LSG vs MI: Why does Digvesh Rathi get fined for the Second time in IPL 2025?

Digvesh Rathi vs MI
Digvesh Rathi vs MI (PC: X)

Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) registered a 12-run win over Mumbai Indians (MI), where their star bowler Digvesh Rathi was named the Player of the Match for his economical spell of 1/21 in four overs.

But now, he has been fined 50% of his match fee for breaching the IPL Code of Conduct. It happened because of his controversial celebration. After taking the wicket of MI’s Naman Dhir, who was looking good with a 46-run knock off 24 balls, Digvesh was seen doing the ‘writing in my notebook’ celebration.

However, this is not the first time he has been fined this season. Against Punjab Kings (PBKS), after taking the wicket of Priyansh Arya, he did the exact same celebration. As a result, he was fined 25% of his match fee.

Now, this second fine counts as his second Level 1 offence under Article 2.5 this season. With this latest breach, he now has two demerit points. The decision was made by the Match Referee as per IPL rules.

Digvesh Rathi has claimed six wickets so far in four matches in the IPL 2025

Despite the incident, it has been an impressive IPL season so far for the LSG spinner. In four matches, he has taken six wickets.

After his Player of the Match performance against MI, Digvesh spoke during the post-match presentation and shared his inspiration.

“My bowling is such that I like to take wickets. I saw Sunil Narine bowl and since then I like bowling. I want to make my mindset more attacking like Sunil Narine. Like he takes pressure for the team,” Digvesh said.

For the Latest Sports News: Follow RevSportz