CFL 2024: Emami East Bengal start their CFL 2024 campaign with a 7-1 win over Tollygunge Agragami

Source: Emami East Bengal FC

Kolkata, 30 June 2024: Goals from Shyamal Besra, Aman CK, Jesin TK (2), Subrata Murmu, Ananthu NS and Sayan Banerjee propelled Emami East Bengal FC to a 7-1 win over Tollygunge Agragami in their Calcutta Football League 2024 Group B opener at Barrackpore’s Bibhutibhushan Bandyopadhyay Stadium this afternoon.

The Red & Gold Brigade dominated the game from the outset and went into the half-time break with a 2-0 lead. Midfielder Shyamal Besra netted EEB’s opening goal in the 12th minute. The goal was the result of a set-piece play as Shyamal received Joseph’s throw-in and played a one-two with Jesin before calmly slotting the ball in.

In the 43rd minute, Aman doubled EEB’s lead as he received a long ball from Jesin and cut back into the opposition box from the left, before his shot took a deflection off the Tollygunge custodian’s gloves and went in.

After the second half commenced, Tollygunge’s Sanjay Sharma reduced the deficit in the 47th minute.

However, EEB continued piling the pressure and scored five more goals in the second half, the first of which came through Jesin’s penalty in the 65th minute. The tall forward scored his second goal of the game only two minutes later as he charged into the opposition box from the left and drove the ball in from close range.

In the 79th minute, substitute Subrata Murmu scored his maiden goal for EEB as he met an aerial cross from Tonmoy Ghosh and nodded the ball in.

Nine minutes later, debutant Ananthu NS scored the sixth goal of the match with a calm left-footed finish.

Sayan Banerjee, who was eventually adjudged the Player of the Match, struck his side’s seventh and final goal of the game in the second half stoppage time (90+2′).

Emami East Bengal will face George Telegraph SC in their next CFL match on 7 July.