Indian Men’s Hockey Team Announced for Paris 2024 Olympics: Harmanpreet Singh to Lead

Indian Men’s Hockey Team (Image: Hockey India/WordsWork Communications)

On Wednesday, Hockey India announced the eagerly awaited 16-member Indian Men’s Hockey Team that will compete at the upcoming Paris 2024 Olympics, from July 26 to August 11, 2024. The squad, featuring five Olympic debutants, has been rigorously training at the ongoing national camp at the SAI Centre in Bengaluru.

The team will be led by ace drag-flicker and defender Harmanpreet Singh, with midfielder Hardik Singh serving as Vice-Captain. Harmanpreet, set for his third Olympics, made his debut as the youngest member of the Indian squad at the 2016 Rio Olympics and was instrumental in the Bronze medal win at the 2020 Tokyo Olympics.

Veteran goalkeeper PR Sreejesh and midfielder Manpreet Singh will make their fourth Olympic appearance. The defense lineup includes Harmanpreet Singh, Jarmanpreet Singh, Amit Rohidas, Sumit, and Sanjay. The midfield features Raj Kumar Pal, Shamsher Singh, Manpreet Singh, Hardik Singh, and Vivek Sagar Prasad. The forward line comprises Abhishek, Sukhjeet Singh, Lalit Kumar Upadhyay, Mandeep Singh, and Gurjant Singh.

Additionally, goalkeeper Krishan Bahadur Pathak, midfielder Nilakanta Sharma, and defender Jugraj Singh have been named as alternate athletes.

The five players making their Olympic debut in Paris are Jarmanpreet Singh, Sanjay, Raj Kumar Pal, Abhishek, and Sukhjeet Singh.

Chief Coach Craig Fulton commented on the team selection: “The selection process for the Paris Olympics’ squad was incredibly competitive due to the depth of talent within our ranks. I am confident that every player chosen will bring their best to Paris. Each player has shown exceptional skill, dedication, and resilience throughout our rigorous preparation phase. Our journey has been marked by unwavering commitment to excellence and a collective drive to elevate Indian hockey on the world stage.”

He added, “This squad embodies a perfect blend of experienced players and promising young talents, giving us the versatility and energy required to tackle the challenges ahead. Our focus has been on building a cohesive team that can adapt to different playing styles and situations, and I believe we have achieved that. As we head to Paris, our goal is clear – to play with heart, skill, and determination. We are prepared to face the world’s best teams and strive for the highest podium. This squad is ready to seize the opportunity and bring glory to India. We are confident in our abilities and excited about the journey ahead.”

Image: Hockey India/WWC

India is placed in Pool B along with defending Champions Belgium, Australia, Argentina, New Zealand, and Ireland. To advance to the Quarter-Finals, the team must secure a top-four finish in their pool.

Pool A includes the Netherlands, Germany, Great Britain, Spain, South Africa, and host nation France, setting the stage for a highly competitive 12-team men’s hockey tournament at the Paris 2024 Olympics.

The Indian Men’s Hockey Team will begin their campaign on July 27 against New Zealand, followed by a match against Argentina on July 29. They will then face Ireland and Belgium on July 30 and August 1, respectively, with their final group stage game against Australia on August 2.

The Indian Men’s Hockey Team has a storied Olympic history, having won an impressive 12 Olympic medals, including 8 Gold, 1 Silver, and 3 Bronze medals. The Harmanpreet-led team aims to add another medal to this tally.

Indian Men’s Hockey Team for Paris 2024 Olympics:

1. Sreejesh Parattu Raveendran

2. Jarmanpreet Singh
3. Amit Rohidas
4. Harmanpreet Singh
5. Sumit
6. Sanjay

7. Rajkumar Pal
8. Shamsher Singh
9. Manpreet Singh
10. Hardik Singh
11. Vivek Sagar Prasad

12. Abhishek
13. Sukhjeet Singh
14. Lalit Kumar Upadhyay
15. Mandeep Singh
16. Gurjant Singh

Alternate Athletes:
17. Nilakanta Sharma
18. Jugraj Singh
19. Krishan Bahadur Pathak