IPL survivors, from 2008 to 2024

IPLTrophy ( Source X)

Amid the mounting excitement for the upcoming IPL season, cricket enthusiasts are primed for a journey down memory lane. A select group of players, who graced the inaugural IPL season in 2008, is eager to reignite the IPL madness, bridging the gap between the tournament’s inception and its current edition. It’s a nostalgic treat that promises to add a unique dimension to the spectacle of the game.

Here is the list of players who have stayed relevant over time:

Mahendra Singh Dhoni (CSK, RPS) (250 matches)

MS Dhoni, the ‘Captain Cool’, has left an indelible mark on the IPL. As the leader of the CSK, Dhoni’s strategic brilliance and calm demeanour under pressure have been instrumental in guiding his team to numerous IPL successes (five titles). His astute decision-making and masterful leadership have set a benchmark for captains in the IPL, making him a legendary figure in the league’s history. By the way, when CSK were banned, Dhoni played for Rising Pune Supergiant for two seasons.

Virat Kohli (RCB) (237 matches) 

Virat Kohli, the epitome of passion and determination, has left a mark on the tournament. Kohli joined the RCB squad in 2008 and assumed leadership in 2013. By 2016, he topped the run-scoring charts, earning the Orange Cap in the IPL’s ninth edition. Until 2022, he remained the IPL’s highest-paid player and he was retained by his franchise before the 2018 auction.

Rohit Sharma ( DC) (MI) (243 matches)

Rohit Sharma’s IPL journey began in 2008, where he showcased glimpses of his talent with the Deccan Chargers before joining the Mumbai Indians in 2011. Under his captaincy from 2013, Mumbai Indians flourished, clinching five IPL titles. Rohit’s knack for leading from the front and his ability to deliver in crunch situations have made him a vital cog in the IPL’s success narrative.

Ravindra Jadeja (RR) (Kochi Tuskers) (GL) (CSK) (226 matches)

Ravindra Jadeja entered the IPL scene in 2008, displaying his all-round prowess with Rajasthan Royals. His stint with Chennai Super Kings since 2012 elevated his status as a match-winner, known for his dynamic performances with both bat and ball. Jadeja’s impact extends beyond statistics, as he has become a vital cog in CSK’s success, embodying the essence of an invaluable all-rounder in T20 cricket. Jadeja also played for Gujarat Lions and Kochi Tuskers.

Shikhar Dhawan: (DD) (MI) (Deccan Chargers) (SRH) (DC) (PBKS) (217 matches)

Following stellar performances since IPL’s inception, former India opener Shikhar Dhawan returned to his hometown in 2019, reinforcing Delhi Capitals’ batting line-up. He joined PBKS at the 2022 auction. Dhawan is IPL’s second-highest run-scorer with 5,784 runs. With a wealth of experience under his belt and many runs against his name, the swashbuckling left-hander is truly an IPL great.

Piyush Chawla: (KXIP) (KKR) (CSK) (MI) (181 matches)

Piyush Chawla commenced his IPL voyage with Kings XI Punjab from 2008 to 2013, enjoying a fruitful stint where he notched 57 wickets in 55 matches. He later ventured with Kolkata Knight Riders, Chennai Super Kings and Mumbai Indians, showcasing his versatility. Despite the ups and downs, Chawla’s prowess as a spinner has made him a sought-after asset in the IPL circuit.

Manish Pandey: (MI) (RCB) (PW) (SRH) (DC) (KKR) (170 matches)

Renowned for his elegant stroke-making, Manish Pandey began his IPL journey with MI in 2008. He then joined RCB in 2009 and was retained for the 2010 season. After stints with Pune Warriors India and KKR, he became one of the highest-paid players with Sunrisers Hyderabad in 2018. Later, he played for Lucknow Super Giants and DC before coming back to KKR in 2024. Pandey was the first Indian to score an IPL hundred.

Ajinkya Rahane: (MI) (RR) (RPS) (DC) (KKR) (CSK) (172 matches)

Ajinkya Rahane’s IPL journey started with Mumbai Indians before he flourished at Rajasthan Royals under Rahul Dravid’s mentorship. Transferred to Delhi Capitals in 2020, he struggled but found a resurgence with Kolkata Knight Riders in 2022. Rahane joined Chennai Super Kings in 2023, contributing significantly to their title triumph with match-winning knocks, marking his maiden IPL crown.

Dinesh Karthik : (DD) (KXIP) (MI) (GL) (KKR) (RCB) (242 matches)

Dinesh Karthik, an esteemed wicketkeeper-batsman, boasts a rich IPL history, leading KKR to Playoffs in 2018. Ahead of the 2022 auction, he switched to RCB for Rs 5.5 crore, marking his second stint with the team. With a career spanning since IPL’s inception, Karthik’s versatility is evident, having represented six different teams while amassing numerous runs and maintaining tidy wicket-keeping skills.

Tune into our morning show: 

Amit Mishra: (DD) (DC) (SRH) (LSG) (161 matches)

Amit Mishra, an IPL stalwart, etched his name in history with three hat-tricks, the first player to achieve the feat. Despite battling injuries, across various teams like Delhi Daredevils and others, Mishra remains the league’s fourth-highest wicket-taker.

Ishant Sharma: (KKR) (DC) (SRH) (RPS) (KXIP) (Delhi capitals)

Ishant Sharma, a seasoned fast bowler, rose to the IPL prominence when he was picked for a whopping $950,000 by Kolkata Knight Riders during the inaugural auction, under Shahrukh Khan’s ownership. Throughout his IPL career, spanning various teams, he has been an integral part of the IPL. Sharma stands for what every young fast bowler aspires, which is to make a mark on the grandest stage of T20 cricket, showcasing consistency, resilience, and determination.

Wriddhiman Saha: (KKR) (CSK) (KXIP) (SRH) (GT)  (161 matches)

Wriddhiman Saha, a wicketkeeper-batsman, has played for various IPL franchises like KKR, CSK, KXIP and SRH. He has experience. Saha now plays for Gujarat Titans. Saha was the first-ever to score a century in an IPL final.

For more sports related information: https://revsportz.in/











Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *