IRE vs IND T20Is: Jasprit Bumrah named captain; Rinku Singh, Shivam Dube included

Jasprit Bumrah is set to return to the Indian cricket team in the upcoming three-match T20I series in Ireland, leading the side as he did in a one-off Test match in England last summer.

With T20 cricket not being of the utmost importance in ODI World Cup year, the selection panel has picked a squad full of youngsters. 

Bumrah has been recovering from a recurring back injury since September 2022, which forced him to miss various cricket events, including the T20 World Cup and IPL 2023. However, his progress at the National Cricket Academy has been closely monitored by the BCCI, and he is expected to play a crucial role in India’s white-ball team for the Asia Cup and ODI World Cup at home.

The team also welcomes Prasidh Krishna back into the squad, who last played for India during the ODI series against Zimbabwe last year. The likes of Shivam Dube, Shahbaz Ahmed, Washington Sundar also make a comeback into the squad.

India squad: Jasprit Bumrah (C), Ruturaj Gaikwad (VC), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Sanju Samson (wk), Jitesh Sharma (wk), Shivam Dube, Washington Sundar, Shahbaz Ahmed, Ravi Bishnoi, Prasidh Krishna, Arshdeep Singh, Mukesh Kumar, Avesh Khan

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *