Kunnummal hundred pilots South Zone to Deodhar title


Vaibhav Tripathi


In a gripping summit clash of the 2023 Deodhar Trophy, the dominant South Zone clinched victory by 45 runs against East Zone. East Zone were bundled out for 283 while chasing a target of 329.

South Zone’s batting charge was initiated by Rohan Kunnummal and Mayank Agarwal, who constructed a commanding 181-run opening partnership in less than 25 overs. Kunnummal displayed aggression, while Agarwal played a supporting role, contributing 63 off 83.

However, East Zone retaliated by claiming quick wickets as South Zone were reduced to 212/3. East Zone’s bowlers, Utkarsh Singh and Parag, made crucial breakthroughs. Despite this setback, Jagadeesan and Rohit Rayudu managed a 44-run partnership. While South Zone stumbled to 268/6 by the 44th over, Jagadeesan’s steady presence pushed them beyond 300, with R Sai Kishore adding an unbeaten 24 off 19. Rohan’s exceptional 107 off 75 balls, featuring 11 fours and 4 sixes, anchored South Zone’s innings. Shahbaz Ahmed, Parag, and Utkarsh Singh took two wickets each for East Zone.

In the second innings, South Zone’s Vasuki Koushik quickly made his mark by dismissing Abhimanyu Easwaran and Virat Singh. Vidhwath Kaverappa added to East Zone’s challenges by removing Utkarsh. East Zone’s skipper Saurabh Tiwary and Sudip Kumar Gharami steadied the side with a fifty-run partnership, but Washington Sundar dismissed the former for 28.

A promising Gharami-Parag partnership was then interrupted by Sai Kishore, with the spinner snuffing out Gharami for 41. Despite Parag and Kumar Kushagra’s determined recovery, Sundar’s crucial breakthroughs shifted the momentum. Parag’s explosive 95 off 65 balls, marked by eight fours and five sixes, showcased his skill. 

Sundar starred for South Zone with three wickets in his ten-over spell. He received strong support from Kaverappa, Vasuki Koushik, and Vijaykumar Vyshak. 


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *