Mandhana and Bowlers Shine as RCB Decimate Gujarat Giants in WPL Clash

Royal Challengers Bangalore celebrate (Photo: WPL/X)

In Match 5 of Women’s Premier League (WPL) 2024, the Smriti Mandhana-led Royal Challengers Bangalore continued their good run of form, defeating Gujarat Giants by a hefty eight-wicket margin. High on confidence after a nail-biting win against UP Warriorz, RCB showcased their prowess. Gujarat Giants suffered their second consecutive loss in the tournament.

RCB’s Bowling Impresses

RCB dismantled Gujarat’s batting with their formidable bowling attack. GG managed only 107 runs, with Sophie Molineux, Renuka Singh Thakur and Georgia Wareham taking six wickets among themselves. Molineux claimed a three-wicket haul, Thakur scalped two wickets and Wareham one. Australia’s Sophie Devine contributed significantly, maintaining the pressure, with an economy of just 3.00 from her four overs, although she didn’t take wickets.

Molineux’s Impactful Performance

Australian left-arm orthodox bowler Molineux made a significant impact with the ball. Her lethal attack began with the dismissal of the experienced Indian batter, Veda Krishnamurthy, followed by a peach of a delivery to bowl out Kathryn Bryce. Molineux capitalised on the favourable conditions at Chinnaswamy Stadium, setting the tone for RCB’s dominance.

Harleen and Hemalatha Resist

Harleen Deol and Dayalan Hemalatha’s contributions prevented Gujarat Giants from crumbling further. Deol’s 22 off 31 balls and Hemalatha’s 31 off 25 provided a brief respite, albeit in separate partnerships. However, GG’s batting line-up struggled, evident from their highest partnership of just 25 runs, ultimately resulting in a below-par total of 107.

Smriti Leads RCB’s Charge

Opening the innings, Smriti Mandhana capitalised on the low-pressure situation, laying a solid foundation alongside S Meghana. Mandhana’s quickfire 45 off 27 balls set the tempo for RCB’s chase, supported by Meghana’s 36 off 28 balls and Ellyse Perry’s brisk 23 runs at a strike rate of 164.

For latest cricket news: click here

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *