Pujara, Suryakumar Yadav to play for West Zone in Duleep Trophy

Vaibhav Tripathi

Cheteshwar Pujara, after being dropped from the Indian Test team, will now be participating in the Duleep Trophy 2023. He has been selected to represent the West Zone side.

Suryakumar Yadav, another Indian cricketer, will also be part of the West Zone team. Suryakumar has been included in the ODI squad for the West Indies tour, but as the ODI series starts only on July 27, he will be available to play for West Zone in the tournament.

The West Zone selection committee, led by Sanjay Patel from the Mumbai Cricket Association, has informed the other committee members about Pujara and Suryakumar’s inclusion. Priyank Panchal will captain the star-studded West Zone team.

The inter-zonal competition, spanning multiple days, is set to commence in Bengaluru on June 28. The defending champions, West Zone, consist of players from Mumbai, Maharashtra, Baroda, Gujarat, and Saurashtra. Due to their defending champions status, West Zone will play their first game on July 5 against the winner of the the match between Central Zone and East Zone.

The Duleep Trophy commences on June 28.

West Zone squad: Priyank Panchal (Captain), Cheteshwar Pujara, Suryakumar Yadav, Harvik Desai (wicketkeeper), Prithvi Shaw, Het Patel (wicketkeeper), Sarfaraz Khan, Arpit Vasavada, Atit Seth, Shams Mulani, Yuvraj Dodiya, Dharmendrasinh Jadeja, Chetan Sakariya, Chintan Gaja, Arzan Nagwaswalla.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *