Umpiring howler in IPL Eliminator

DK was given a reprieve by the umpire. (Source:

An Anil Chaudhary howler gave Dinesh Karthik a lifeline, although the Royal Challengers Bengaluru wicketkeeper-batsman couldn’t properly capitalise on that. Chaudhary, the TV umpire, overturned the on-field LBW decision, but replays showed Karthik didn’t hit the ball.

Avesh Khan had dismissed a well-set Rajat Patidar in the second ball of the 15th over. In the very next delivery, he trapped Karthik in front. It looked out and the on-field umpire raised the finger. Karthik reviewed and the UltraEdge showed a spike as the ball passed the bat. It was actually bat on pad and there was a gap between bat and ball. Chaudhary, however, decided that there was a nick and the decision was reversed.

Avesh looked surprised. The Rajasthan Royals dug-out didn’t look convinced either. Kumar Sangakkara, Royals’ director of cricket, was visibly unhappy and took the matter up with the match officials. On air, Sunil Gavaskar said: “The bat hit the pads and not the ball. If you have edged, you go straight up. You don’t walk to the other end to confirm.” His co-commentator Kevin Pietersen agreed. “I don’t think the umpire got it right,” he said.

Karthik didn’t score much, as he perished to Avesh for 11 off 13 balls in the 19th over. But his 32-run sixth wicket stand with Mahipal Lomror helped RCB reach a respectable 172/8. During the innings break, Ravichandran Ashwin called RCB’s total “par-minus”. But in a knockout game, Chaudhary’s decision was below par.