Tamim Iqbal relinquishes ODI captaincy, ruled out of Asia Cup due to back injury

Vaibhav Tripathi

Tamim Iqbal has relinquished his role as captain of Bangladesh’s One Day International (ODI) set-up. In addition, the left-handed batter will not participate in the upcoming Asia Cup, scheduled to commence on August 30, as he focuses on recovering from a back injury ahead of the World Cup to be held in India in October-November.

“I will step down as captain and concentrate as a player and try to give my best whenever the opportunity comes,” said Tamim in an interaction with the media.

The latest announcement follows his recent decision to rescind his retirement from international cricket. That development had come after Tamim’s meeting with Sheikh Hasina, the Bangladesh Prime Minister, and Mashrafe Mortaza, the former Bangladesh skipper.

“I can say no to everyone but it was impossible for me to say no to someone of the PM’s authority. Papon (Nazmul Hasan) bhai, Mashrafe (Mortaza) bhai were big, big factors too. Mashrafe bhai called me here and Papon bhai was also here. Prime Minister also gave me one and a half months break for my treatment and other things. After becoming mentally free, I will play the rest of the matches,” he had said.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *